Finest moments in Indian cricket history

Developing a good understanding of the basics of the game of cricket is very much vital for people. For this referring to the latest news about cricket is surely a good idea so that people can learn a lot. Some of the finest moments of the Indian cricket history are explained as:

1st Test match win on foreign soil –

India’s most challenging task was winning a Test match away from home. Tiger Pataudi, the attack-minded captain, did precisely that when he guided his team to a five-wicket victory over Graham Dowling’s New Zealand in Dunedin in 1968. It was a watershed event in Indian cricket.

With his six for 94 in New Zealand’s second innings, Erapalli Prasanna, the off-spinner with an insightful mind and a bag of tricks, turned India’s Test match around. India achieved the target of 200 runs, with Ajit Wadekar contributing a valuable 71, following an innings of 80 in the first.

First World Series triumph on foreign soil –

Under Ajit Wadekar’s captaincy, The Indian cricket team made history 51 years ago when they thrashed England 1-0 in a three-day match. It was the first world series win on foreign soil.

The series was a stepping stone for the Indian cricket team in its desire to break the label of minnows and enter the top league of cricketing nations.

Victory in the 1983 World Cup –

Every Indian remembers the 1983 World Cup triumph with fondness.  India won the World Cup defying the odds. This victory shocked the world. The organisers were so confident that India would not reach the final that they didn’t even provide a gate card for the Indian Cricket team.

Haryana Hurricane, Kapil Dev, guided the team despite all difficulties. They defeated the formidable West Indies in their first game, beating Zimbabwe. Then came another thrashing at the hands of the West Indies and Australia. Then came Kapil Dev’s great inning against Zimbabwe. According to Sunil Gavaskar, an inning permanently revolutionised Indian cricket.

Natwest Trophy Final, 2002 –

India advanced to the Natwest Trophy final. In the final, England amassed a massive total of 326 runs. India was 146/5, and Yuvraj Singh and Mohammad Kaif played beautifully to help India win the championship. To celebrate India’s triumph, Ganguly removed his shirt and waved it.

India won its first T20I World Cup in 2007-

The first 20-over World Cup also known as T20 was played in South Africa. T20 was a still-developing sport that was starting to gain prominence. MS Dhoni, a youthful captain leading India, shocked everyone by defeating Pakistan’s arch rival by five runs.

After winning the toss, India chose to bat in the tournament finals. Gautam Gambhir hit a brilliant 75-run knock to lead the team to 157/5 in the first inning. Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals and did not produce the necessary pace. Misbah-ul-Haq, the middle-order batsman, was looking to make runs.

With one wicket in hand, Pakistan just required 13 runs in the last over. Dhoni substituted Joginder Sharma for the last over. Misbah tried to attack him with a sweep shot over the short fine leg. Still, Sreesanth made no mistake in taking the game’s last catch as India achieved history.

2008 Commonwealth Bank Series –

Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the Indian cricket team in the Commonwealth Series in 2008. India set a record by defeating Australia on its turf.

This was a big achievement for the Indian cricket team and it is still remembered as an emotional event in Indian cricket history.

India’s second World Cup victory came in 2011-

India broke the curse by defeating the Sri Lankan side in the ODI World Cup finals in Mumbai in 2011—28 years after winning the first World Cup. Under MS Dhoni’s leadership, India has won yet another significant ICC championship.

Chasing 275 runs to win the prized cup, India quickly lost its key players Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag. Before the latter left, Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir established an 83-run partnership. Dhoni was upgraded to the batting order and joined Gambhir in the pursuit.

The pair shared a remarkable 109-run stand until Gambhir fell three runs short of his well-deserved century. Dhoni Who was the captain at the time proceeded to hit huge runs and end the chase. Dhoni smashed a massive six to end the pursuit in style, and India won the historic World Cup.

India won the Champions Trophy in 2013-

In 2013, India won the Champions Trophy for the very first time, defeating England, and MS Dhoni became the only captain to have won all 3 ICC Trophies. India won the tournament’s first match, defeating South Africa, and continued to improve, finally winning against England in the event finals, which was cut short to 20 overs owing to rain.

India won an exciting game by five runs, adding another crucial ICC championship cup to their collection of victories after reaching a modest 129 when batting first. England seemed to be on track to beat the mark comfortably. Still, the English hitters could not respond to India’s bowling onslaught.

The match came down to the last over, with England needing 14 runs to win. And if that wasn’t enough pressure, it all boiled down to the last ball. The battle between Ashwin and Treadwell was supposed to decide the game’s result. England required a six in the final delivery. Treadwell fell short, Ashwin kept his calm, and India won.

India’s first Test series victory in Australia in 2018-19-

At the time, capturing a win in a Test series in Australia looked unfathomable. Still, Virat Kohli guided the Indian team so that they did the unthinkable and etched their name in history.

Throughout the series, India crushed the Australians in their backyard, winning the series 2-1, courtesy of superb bowling by the energetic Indian bowling attack and outstanding batting by the seasoned Cheteshwar Pujara.

India won the first and third games in the four-match series while dropping the fourth. India won the title after its fourth game at the Sydney Cricket Pitch, which it won 2-1, ended in a stalemate.

A New India 2022

India is the new test champ and presently sits top of the test rankings, which is a very proud moment for the country.

Players like Rohit Sharma, who has the record for the most runs in an ODI inning, Virat Kohli, the greatest modern batsman in the world, and younger entrants like Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, and Mohammad Siraj are the future of the Indian team, ready to set new records and moments that we will cherish forever.

There may be many more records in cricket in the future, but these are some of the most unforgettable and emotional moments in Indian cricket history that will always be remembered for what they gave supporters.

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF.

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket updates at CBTF.

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket tips to win big with expert opinions at

Related Articles

Back to top button